Level 5 Diploma in Cyber Security (L5DCS) - NCC Education

Level 5 Diploma in Cyber Security (L5DCS)

The Level 5 Diploma in Cyber Security (L5DCS) makes up the second year of the NCC Education degree journey. This builds upon the knowledge gained during the Level 4 Diploma in Computing (L4DC).

This qualification is designed to develop the specialist skills necessary to protect and secure data systems from ever-increasing threats in today’s evolving digital society.

A balance of academic and vocational learning will provide students with the necessary knowledge and skills essential in many cyber-security job roles.

Upon successful completion of the qualification, students will be able to go on to directly pursue a career in cyber security or complete the final year of a degree at one of the many universities which recognise NCC Education qualifications.

  • Delivery Method: Face-to-face classes attended at an Accredited Partner Centre
  • Duration:
    • Full-time: 1 year
    • Part-time: 2-3 years
  • 6 Units
  • 120 Credits
  • Diploma completed full-time in one academic year
  • Assessment: Coursework assessment through examination
  • Registration Dates: Registration throughout the year
  • NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing (L4DC) (RQF)
  • A local or international qualification deemed to be a similar level to these
    awards. Candidates in this category whose first language is not English will
    also require IELTS 5.5 or equivalent.

Six core units include:

  • Networking Security and Cryptography – Provides students with the underlying theory and practical skills required to secure networks and to send data safely and securely over communication networks.


  • Information Systems Analysis – This module equips students with a range of tools to analyse the function and requirements of information systems, as well as the skills to compare systems analysis models and to examine them in the wider context of the Internet and the social, economic and political climate of an organisation.


  • Analysis, Design and Implementation – Provides students with in-depth knowledge, skills and experience in the use of object-oriented techniques for the development of software. The unit also develops expertise in object-oriented analysis, design and coding, and the testing of systems.


  • Network Security Management – Provides students with the skills to eliminate or reduce the risks associated with network vulnerability and protects valuable information held by organisations.


  • Computer Forensics – Understanding the investigation requirements and prosecution of cybercriminals. Students will learn the necessary processes required for the acquisition, inspection, and reporting of information stored across computer networks related to criminal incidents.


  • Ethical hacking – Understanding of the concept of ‘ethical’ hacking and the essential elements; such as information security, threats and attack vectors of information security, hacking and ethical hacking concepts including risk management.

If you are interested in enrolling for the Level 5 Diploma in Cyber Security (L5DCS) contact us at admissions@nccedu.com. Alternatively, send our Customer Service team an email at customer.service@nccedu.com.


To start offering the Level 5 Diploma in Cyber Security (L5DCS) to your students fill out our contact form and a member of team will be in touch with you shortly.