X Close Icon

Level 5 Diploma in Computing (with Cyber Security) (L5DC CS)

The Level 5 Diploma in Computing (with Cyber Security (L5DC CS) (previously Level 5 Diploma in Cyber Security (L5DCS)) makes up the second year of the NCC Education degree journey. This builds upon the knowledge gained during the Level 4 Diploma in Computing (L4DC).


This qualification is designed to develop the specialist skills necessary to protect and secure data systems from ever-increasing threats in today’s evolving digital society.

A balance of academic and vocational learning will provide students with the necessary knowledge and skills essential in many cyber-security job roles.

Upon successful completion of the qualification, students will be able to go on to directly pursue a career in cyber security or complete the final year of a degree at one of the many universities which recognise NCC Education qualifications.

  • For entry onto the NCC Education L5DCS/ L5DC CS course, students must have at least one of the following:

    •  NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing (L4DC) or the Level 4 Diploma in Business IT (L4DBIT).
    • A local or international qualification, which is deemed to be of a similar level to the NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing (L4DC) or the Level 4 Diploma in Business IT (L4DBIT) qualifications. This must be agreed with NCC Education in advance.

    If a potential student’s first language is not English, they must also reach the English Language requirements of either:

    • International English Language Testing System (IELTS) minimum score of 5.5 or above
    • Alternatively, take the free NCC Education Higher English Placement Test, which is administered by our Accredited Partner Centres.


    • The Oxford Test of English is recognised for acceptance onto NCC Education programmes. An affordable, personalized test that fits you – it’s 100% online, flexible, fast, and available at Approved Test Centres across the globe. Plus, it’s the only language proficiency test certified by the University of Oxford.
  • Students are required to complete six units comprising of five core units and one of the two elective units:

    • Business IT Project: (Unit 1 core) – This module provides students with the opportunity to gain practical experience in developing system solutions to open-ended problems derived from the real world.
    • Information Systems Analysis: (Unit 2 core) – This module equips students with a range of tools to analyse the function and requirements of information systems, as well as the skills to compare systems analysis models and to examine them in the wider context of the Internet and the social, economic and political climate of an organisation.
    • Network Security Threats and Defence Mechanisms *: (Unit 3 core) – Provides students with the skills to eliminate or reduce the risks associated with network vulnerability and protects valuable information held by organisations.
    • Computer Forensics and Incident Investigation *: (Unit 4 core) – Understanding the investigation requirements and prosecution of cyber criminals. Students will learn the necessary processes required for the acquisition, inspection, and reporting of information stored across computer networks related to criminal incidents.
    • Ethical Hacking and Information Security Assessments *: (Unit 5 core) – Understanding of the concept of ‘ethical’ hacking and the essential elements; such as information security, threats and attack vectors of information security, hacking and ethical hacking concepts including risk management.
    • Professional Issues in IT (1 elective) – This module highlights the professional issues that impact the development, deployment, maintenance and use of computer systems. It equips students with the knowledge surrounding social, ethical and legal issues applicable to the IT field and also a working understanding of software quality. It is recommended that students take this module if they have progressed from the L4DBIT.
    • Analysis, Design and Implementation: (2 elective) – Provides students with in-depth knowledge, skills and experience in the use of object-oriented techniques for the development of software. The unit also develops expertise in object-oriented analysis, design and coding, and the testing of systems.

    *The teaching and learning materials for core units three, four and five have been developed by the EC Council for NCC Education. Once students have completed these units they will be awarded a certificate of completion from the EC Council.

  • The International Council of E-Commerce Consultants, also known as EC-Council, is the world’s largest cyber security technical certification body. Operating in 145 countries globally, they are the owner and developer of the world-famous Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH), Computer Hacking Forensics Investigator (C|HFI), Certified Security Analyst (ECSA), Licence Penetration Testing (Practical) programmes, among others. They have trained and certified over 200,000 information security professionals globally that have influenced the cyber security mindset of countless organisations worldwide.

  • Assessment through examination and coursework assignments.

  • If you are interested in enrolling for the Level 5 Diploma in Cyber Security (L5DCS) contact us at admissions@nccedu.com. Alternatively, send our Customer Service team an email at customer.service@nccedu.com.

    To start offering the Level 5 Diploma in Cyber Security (L5DCS) to your students fill out our contact form below and a member of team will be in touch with you shortly.

Any questions?

Get in touch to find out more about this course.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

< Return to Computing Qualifications